top of page
Search

Things most shy people can relate to

Updated: Oct 20, 2020

Of course the following don't apply to only shy people. Hope you enjoy!

Having people think you're stuck up or rude

An old classmate of mine once told me she was surprised I was as nice as I was. For years she had thought I was stuck up because I didn't talk to many people.


Thinking everyone is talking about you




Using your phone as a cover


Being on your phone or having earbuds in so no one will talk to you is a true mood.


Not eating in public


Being too insecure or shy to eat in public has made me miss a lot of opportunities for foods or snacks that could only be eaten in class or in the restaurant. Eating in the classroom, bathroom, or the library had became my new normal in high school and I don't regret it.


Being invited but never going or not being invited at all


I don't and won't regret going to the parties that I went to but I also don't regret not going to the ones that I missed. Life is too short to worry about something in the past that you can't change. A lot of the time I felt blessed for not going after hearing the stuff that went on there.


Feeling so lonely but loving being alone


In middle school and elementary school, I was and will forever be thankful for the girls who offered me a spot at their table, gave me drawings, talked to me when I was lonely, and helped me in ways I will pay forward to strangers too.


When I got to high school, I was separated from my friends a lot of the time in the morning and during lunch. Sitting at the table alone, I felt more alone than ever, especially when people started to bully and publicly humiliate me more. I felt too embarrassed from then on and went to the library and skipped eating at school unless it was a small snack that I could sneak in.


Internally screaming


Whether it's because someone annoying won't stop talking or because someone you like just talked to you screaming internally happens to most of us.


Dreading and avoiding phone or video calls

Just sitting and watching the phone ring while trying to gain enough confidence to answer or coming up with excuses through text.





Covering your nervousness with a smile




Am I the only one that experienced being questioned about why I'm smiling or laughing so much? I often used both as a blanket to cover the silence or my nervous mindset.


Being uncomfortable in groups


A lot of the time in groups you'd be too quiet for others to hear or too nervous to add to the conversation. Having a great comeback or joke but not enough confidence to say it aloud.


Not knowing what to do without that one friend

Ever been chilling with your friend and their friends and suddenly your friend has to leave? Being stuck with or forced to converse with strangers while shy is either like


Being treated as if you're not there/ being forgotten


A lot of times in class during a group project, my classmates thought that I wouldn't talk at all to them. Some even tried to use this to their advantage and try to copy me the whole time. Other times people would talk about the most bizarre situations as if you weren't even there.


An embarrassing story for me is when the bus driver forgot about my stop and was speeding. My friend thankfully yelled out and I legit couldn't love her more for all that she's done for me.


Having people talk for you

"She's really shy, don't take her silence the wrong way."


Hating presentations/ class plays


The dead silence, the cold stares, the "I can't hear them!" will forever be a memory to haunt me. When it's your time to talk in class aloud, you might've been trying your best to disappear. Counting down how many names or heads until it was your turn or freaking out when the teacher was randomly calling on people.


As I got older, thankfully, I was able to attain more confidence when giving presentations and talking to strangers while making an appropriate amount of eye contact.


Let me know about any of your stories in the comments! I love you all and wish you a blessed month. You will all grow, learn, heal, and thrive with time. Never give up on your personal, mental, and physical growth.


bottom of page