top of page
Search

The journey to clearer skin

Updated: Aug 29, 2022

My skincare journey started when I got my first pimple in middle school. Often I would get breakouts from too much sugar, stress, and other issues. I followed a multitude of tips that I'm going to share today about how I cleared my skin.

Word of the day: Fleshment- excitement related to a successful beginning.


Use a silk pillowcase (change every 3 days if you can)




Eczema diet/ Find your triggers

After I learned that my diet was triggering my eczema flare up, I jumped into research. Unfortunately, the foods that caused the breakouts happened to be some of my favorites! I slowly removed some and limited my access to others. For example, I stopped eating cheese as often, stopped drinking soda and whole milk, limited candy and other sweets.
In smaller towns or in places with limited access to healthier options, this step may be difficult to figure out. But don't worry~ healthy snacks and recipes are available everywhere!


Drink more water

There was a time when I drunk at least 5 cups of water daily, was sleeping better, eating healthier, stressing less, and exercising. During that time, my face was the clearest it had been in a while. For someone like me who often forgets to drink water, stresses often, and has eating issues, this step took a while to re-accomplish but thankfully I drink at least 1 bottle of water a day now.

Cut down on sugar and processed food



My past and current skincare products

Cerave Foaming Facial Cleanser

One of my absolutely favorite cleansers!


Truskin Vitamin c Serum (from Amazon)

Dermasil oil free night moisturizer facial cream (hypoallergenic with vitamin E)




Laneige cleansing Multi Deep-Clean

Laneige is a Korean face wash that was recommended to me by some friends. The smell and feel of this cleanser is incredible!


Simple sensitive skin foaming cleaner (from Amazon)


My sensitive skin loves the feel of this.






I used to use this product! I had to stop because the scent was too strong for my eyes to handle. The beads were a little too rough for my skin as well.


Ingredients such as alcohol and some fragrances should be avoided by people with sensitive skin!

Jade roller
Salicylic Acid


Do not touch your face

Try to occupy your hands with something else even if it's just a pencil.

Moisturize your face at least 3 times a week and wear sunscreen!

Look for hypoallergenic products

Do not use pore strips if you have sensitive skin and be careful using them as they can cause damage to skin

Check out my Pinterest for more skin tips!


Lips

chap lips causes include but are not limited to environment (dry, cold) and conditions such as dry mouth

never lick or peel your lips

exfoliate your lips (use a scrub or brush your lips gently with a separate toothbrush)

be careful about what ingredients your lipstick/balm/gloss contains


EYES

Wear your glasses/ contacts as directed and take breaks from screens. Set timers on apps and turn on do not disturb with the exceptions of emergency apps.

Take extended breaks from screens-- With most people working or doing school from home, this step will be extremely hard to do.





Place cold surfaces like a cold rag, a spoon (put in fridge), ice on your eye bags, use a jade roller, gel eye masks

Experiment with new sleep tips and get tested for/ research insomnia, sleep apnea, narcolepsy, and other sleep conditions.

Wear sunglasses especially on overcast days to protect your eyes
bottom of page